Connect with us


Tinubu Appoints 9 Resident Electoral Commissioners For INEC




President Bola Tinubu has approved the appointment of nine new Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Their appointment is for a term of five (5) years each, subject to the confirmation of the Nigerian Senate.

A press statement on Wednesday, signed by Chief Ajuri Ngelale, Special Adviser to the President said those appointed are: Mr. Isah Shaka Ehimeakne — Edo State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Mr. Bamidele Agbede — Ekiti State Resident Electoral Commissioner and Mr. Jani Adamu Bello — Gombe State Resident Electoral Commissioner

Others are ; Dr. Taiye Ilayasu — Kwara State Resident Electoral Commissioner,
Dr. Bunmi Omoseyindemi — Lagos State Resident Electoral Commissioner,
Alhaji Yahaya Bello — Nasarawa State Resident Electoral Commissioner,
Prof. Mohammed Yalwa — Niger State Resident Electoral Commissioner,
Dr. Anugbum Onuoha — Rivers State Resident Electoral Commissioner and Mr. Abubakar Fawa Dambo — Zamfara State Resident Electoral Commissioner.

According to Ngelale, President Tinubu expects the new appointees to abide by the highest standards of professional and ethical conduct in the discharge of their duties.

He said the expectation is in accordance with his determination to facilitate the establishment of a new and sustainable standard of transparent, fair, and conflict-free electoral conduct in Nigeria.