Connect with us


President Tinubu Appoints Consuls-General, Chargés D’Affaires For 14 Countries




President Bola Tinubu has approved the appointment of 12 consuls-general and five chargés d’affaires to represent Nigeria in 14 countries.

The minister of Foreign Affairs, Yusuf Tuggar disclosed this announcement in a statement on Tuesday.

Tuggar, in a statement by his Special Assistant on Media and Communications Strategy, Alkasim Abdulkadir, charged the newly appointed Chargé D’affaires and Consuls General to be good ambassadors of Nigeria.

It said the new appointees are pivotal to the economic drive of President Bola Tinubu.

He further stressed that as seasoned career diplomats, they should shun the act of politicking and recommit themselves to their calling of diplomacy for Nigeria’s collective interest and development.

Read Also:UTME: JAMB warns candidates against patronising fake websites

Reacting on behalf of the new appointees, the just appointed Consul General for the Consulate in New York, Ambassador Abubakar Jidda, reiterated his colleagues’ commitment to uphold the profession’s ethos and pledged to bring the much-needed investments to the country.

He thanked President Bola Ahmed Tinubu and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs for the confidence reposed in them.

Read Also:Zamfara: Fleeing villagers storm Govt. House to seek protection from bandits

Names of Chargé D’affaires and missions posted include Amb. Saidu Dodo Damascus, Syria); Amb. Patrick Imoudu Imologhome (Pyongyang, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea); Amb. Francisca Omayuli (Singapore, Singapore); Amb. Babagana Ahmadu (Bangui, Central African Republic); and Amb. Mohammed Mohammed (Tripoli, Libya).

Read Also:‘How we discovered fraudulent COVID-19 funds, World Bank loan at humanitarian ministry’- EFCC

Also, the newly appointed Consul General and their consulates, including Amb. Auwalu Namadina (Atlanta, USA); Amb. Nnamdi Nze (Bata, Equatorial Guinea); Amb. Francis Enya (Douala, Cameroon); Amb. Gbadebo Afolabi (Shanghai, China); Amb. Oludare Folowosele (Hong Kong, China); Amb. Abubakar Jidda, (New York, USA); Amb. Yakubu Dadu (Frankfurt, Germany); Amb. Taofik Coker (Buea, Cameroon); Amb. George Onwuekwe (Guangzhou, China); Amb. Umar Bashir (Johannesburg, South Africa); Amb. Zayyan Ibrahim (Dubai, UAE); and Amb. Muazam Nayaya (Jeddah, Saudi Arabia).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply